I’m going to run a 5K

I know you must be asking yourself “she’s training for a 5K”? Did she mean marathon or even a half-marathon?  No I mean a 5K. I’m almost 50 years old and I haven’t run a 5K since I was in my 20s and back then I was slow. But it’s on my list of things to get back into doing. It’s a twofer, get in shape and support charities.  The run will be on Memorial Day so I have 3 months to get in shape enough to run ~3.5 miles.   I exercise pretty regularly but running is quite different from walking and gliding on an elliptical.  For me running takes not just physical energy but mental energy. Every step says I want to stop.  This time I plan a different physical and mental strategy.  I”ll start out running a 1/2 mile then 1 mile, 1 1/2 miles then 2 miles until I reach 3 miles.  Mentally instead of whining and crying I’ll encourage myself and challenge myself to go further and that I feel fine.  My mindset is so different now than it was 20+ years ago.  I criticize myself less and encourage myself more.  

I could walk it but I want to run it, that’s what everybody else is going to do and I want to run while I still can.  My knees still work great and my back feels ok.   I might be slow but as long as I finish  I’ll be happy.

YOU GO GIRL………

 

8x1s6i7k.jpg_197x158

One response to “I’m going to run a 5K

Leave a Reply

