Tyler Perry’s Madea’s Big Happy Family: A Review

On spring break, my sister met me in Myrtle Beach. She wanted to see Tyler Perry’s new movie Madea’s Big Happy Family.  If you’ve seen any of those movies you know Madea is the star and savior.  What Madea says goes. 

I appreciate Tyler Perry’s theatrical attributes, his writing and persistence in a mostly white-male dominated industry.  I appreciate that he wants to portray our culture in a different light than the typical gang-banging manner. There are some extremely funny scenes in the movie. Loretta Devine is one of the main characters in the movie and she is one of my favorite actresses. She seems to always be geniune in any role.  And I love her voice, it’s just plain sweet.

I must say I didn’t quite enjoy this one as much as his previous movies.  It seems to me he in brought in some negativity that could have been left out. I would like to see him drop the wig, dress, “Madea” attitude and pursue other storylines. He is extremely talented and I know more is left in him to produce movies we will enjoy and be inspired by.

Leave a Reply

