What Can Separate You From His Love …

Cross & Clouds

Cross & Clouds (Photo credit: John H Wright Photo)

Romans 8:35-39 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?  Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or weakness or nakedness or danger or sword?  As it is written:  “For your sake we face death all day long; we are considered as sheep to be slaughered.”  No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.  For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

I was thinking about this verse the other day when it dawned on me that I had my own list of things that tempt me to go to the valley almost on a daily basis.  They try and drag me down so that I lose my joy.

I substituted my list in the verse:

Shall family drama, life circumstances, life  disappointments,  children, husband, job, money, mood swings ,dreams, goals,  missed opportunities, unfairness, time, tragic events here and abroad separate me from God’s love?  Or the BIGGER question is whether these things will separate my love from God?  And sometimes it’s not the big things but  an accumulation of “little” things.

My prayer is that none of these things compares to the goodness of God and as I live my life no matters what happens I will praise Him and hold on to His hand until He calls me heavenward.

Leave a Reply

